No. The Driver Safety Course only applies to moving traffic violations as follows:
Non-moving traffic violations or non-traffic violations (i.e, alcohol, tobacco, criminal mischief, etc), do not apply. Should clarification be needed, please contact the Court.
Show All Answers
A Driver Safety Course is six hours in length and taught by a provider that has received approval from the Texas Education Agency (TEA) to offer instruction intended to improve a driver's knowledge, perception, and attitude about driving. If the Defendant successfully completes the course within a ninety day period and provides the Court will all specified items, the case will be dismissed.
Upon successful completion, the ticket will be dismissed, and a conviction will not be reported to the State.
In most cases, the Driver Safety Course Fee due to the Court is $109. However, if the violation was issued in a school zone, the fee is $134. You must request to take a driver’s safety course with the court before enrolling in the class. The Defendant is also responsible for paying an additional fee directly to the driver safety course provider for enrolling in the actual course. The provider's fee range begins at $25.
In addition to the cost of the driver’s safety course, you will be required to obtain your driving record from Texas Department of Public Safety to prove eligibility at a cost of $12.
While the Court cannot recommend a specific provider or location, it can direct Defendants to a complete list provided by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations (TDLR), which governs all providers. Driving Safety courses are available in the classroom, but video or online. See the Driver Safety Course Locations for more information.
Specialized Driving Safety Seat Belt Courses may also be located using the web. They are only available in the classroom or online. Video is not available.
Once completed, the Defendant must return both the certificate of completion (signed) and a certified copy of a driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety to the Court within the time set forth. The driving record will provide proof to the Court that a Driver Safety Course has not been completed within the last twelve months from date of offense. See the Driver Record Request (PDF) (Mail) or Driver Record Request (Online) form for more information. All paperwork should be mailed certified with return receipt.
If all paperwork is not received in the Court by the due date, the violation will be reported to the State as a conviction on the Defendant's record, and the balance of the fine (original amount due - fee paid) will be due. Should arrangements not be made to pay the balance of the fine, a capias pro fine warrant will be issued for the Defendant's arrest.