Failure to Appear
Failure to Appear and answer for the charge against you during the initial 10 business day period may result in an extra charge and a warrant being issued for your arrest.
Failure to Appear
The Trophy Club Municipal Court participates in a “Failure to Appear - Failure to Comply” program with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). Delinquent criminal cases are reported to DPS and the defendant’s driver license cannot be renewed until the case(s) is handled at the Court. DPS has contracted with OmniBase Services to administer this program.
Under Texas law you are classified as a juvenile if you are under 17 years of age. You are classified as a minor if you are under 21 years of age.
Failure of the Parent or Legal Guardian
State law requires that a parent or legal guardian must be present in Court at all proceedings if the accused is a juvenile. Failure of the parent or legal guardian to appear with the juvenile is a separate misdemeanor offense against the parent or legal guardian and may result in the issuance of a warrant for the parent/legal guardian.
Failure of the Juvenile
If the juvenile fails to appear at his or her scheduled hearing, the Court may report the non-appearance to the Texas Department of Public Safety and order the denial or suspension of the juvenile's Driver's License. Additionally, if after sentencing a juvenile fails to appear, the juvenile may also be found in contempt and fined an additional $500.
Failure of the Minor
If a minor fails to appear for his or her scheduled hearing, a warrant for his or her arrest may be issued and an additional Failure to Appear charge may be filed.
Pursuant to Texas law, Article 45.057(j), Code of Criminal Procedure, you are being provided written notice of the following:
- A child and a parent are required to appear before the Court and have an obligation to provide the Court in writing with the current address and residence of the child
- The obligation does not end when the child reaches the age of 17
- On or before the 7th day after the date the child or parent changes residence (any place where the child lives or resides for a period of at least 30 days), the child or parent shall notify the Court of the current address in the manner directed by the Court
- Failure to provide notice is a Class C offense. The obligation to provide notice terminates on discharge and satisfaction of the judgment or final disposition.