Now that Texas has passed the Open Carry law, citizens can take a License to Carry (LTC) course to become certified to carry legally. The Town and Trophy Club Police Department are hosting a LTC training course on:
February 2nd 2016
6:00 p.m. — 10:00 p.m.
Svore Municipal Building — Boardroom
100 Municipal Drive
Open to Town residents, sign up early, seating limited. Range proficiency is Saturday February 6th at Proactive Defense @ Quail Creek (13800 FM 1171, Northlake, TX). Participants sign up for range time slots during classroom training (both classroom and range must be attended for licensing requirements).
Fee is $35 for class and range fees. Please bring cash or a check payable to Chris Rainey. Attendees must supply own firearm, ammo, and safety equipment. Ammo will be available for purchase at the range.
For additional information/questions, please contact Julie Swartz.
Texas Government Code Chapter 411, Subchapter H sets out the eligibility criteria that must be met. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless active duty military) and must meet Federal qualifications to purchase a handgun. A number of factors may make individuals ineligible to obtain a license, such as: felony convictions, some misdemeanor convictions, including charges that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication; certain pending criminal charges; chemical or alcohol dependency; certain types of psychological diagnoses, and protective or restraining orders.
You must also submit a completed application, pay the required fees, complete all required training and submit required supplemental forms and materials.
The classroom instruction part of the course must include not less than four hours and not more than six hours of instruction on:
- the laws that relate to weapons and to the use of deadly force;
- handgun use and safety, including use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns;
- nonviolent dispute resolution; and
- proper storage practices for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child.
Only a qualified handgun instructor may administer the proficiency examination to obtain a license. The proficiency examination must include:
- a written section on the subjects listed in Subsection (b); and
- a physical demonstration of proficiency in the use of one or more handguns and in handgun safety procedures.
You do not need to complete the State Application prior to class. Please bring your handgun (.32 Cal Minimum) and 100 rounds of ammunition, 50 are required for qualification the extra 50 are for those that fail to qualify the first time. YOU MAY BRING YOUR OWN AMMO, NO RELOADS. If you currently don't have a handgun you can rent one for an additional cost which includes the ammunition.
Renewals are no longer required to take a continuing education course as of September 2013.
There is a 25 question true/false and multiple choice exam. Students must Achieve a proficiency level of 70% on the written exam in order to pass the course.
Students must achieve a score of 175 points out of 250 total possible points. The Proficiency is timed with specific firing sequence. All shooting is done at the ready position.